Internship Profile

Graduation-66.jpg

Name: Anna Pirog

Major: Accounting

Company Name: CohnReznick

 

 

 

What skills do you have that gave you an advantage in securing this internship?                   

My biggest skill would have to be dedication. I was able to communicate that I was a hard worker who took pride in the work I was completing. It takes a lot of perseverance to withstand long hours in the office working on complicated accounting issues. By showing CohnReznick that I would be just as dedicated to them was a great advantage for me.

 

What are the steps you took to land your internship? 

Having a resume that is tailored towards the job you want really helps you stand out amongst the rest of the crowd applying for the same position. An important step I had taken was having one of my accounting professors review and comment on my resume so I was sure that it was communicating what it should be. Additionally, before the interview I researched potential questions CohnReznick might ask in the interview and practiced answering them many times in order to be completely prepared. The interview was one of the smoothest I have experienced thus far.

 

What did you do as an intern at the company you worked at? 

As a Tax Intern at CohnReznick I was able to work on many diverse tax accounting projects. Even as an intern, I completed comprehensive tax law and tax preparation training which culminated in official IRS certification. Additionally, I prepared financial statements for practical use and decision making, prepared various types of corporate tax returns, researched the Internal Revenue Code tax law to ensure clients were adhering to the most recent tax laws, and even attended regular tax law and return preparation trainings with the rest of the accountants there.

 

What did you enjoy about your internship? 

My time throughout my tax accounting internship was amazing. I learned valuable information about the tax accounting industry, increased my network, and met some amazing people. I believe what I enjoyed most about the internship was when the partners of the firm called me into their office, shook my hand, and offered me a full-time position in which I now am working in.

 

What was challenging about your internship? 

Having a tax accounting internship is tough. You work long hours–I was working close to 60 hours a week while taking classes–and you hit many road blocks with issues you don’t understand. There is nothing like being stuck on a problem for too long, but then finding a way to solve it on your own with careful thought and research. After a 12 hour work day, I enjoyed that feeling of accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

